Understanding User Groups

Applies to

TITANTOUCH 2SENSE 2MERGEMYCROMYCRO
All DevicesAll DevicesAll DevicesAll DevicesAll DevicesAll Devices

Description

User groups is a logical grouping of users. It is used to synchronize users to the IXM device. Once a user group is created, it can be mapped to a particular device group which then automatically transfers all the users in the user group to device(s) which are mapped to that specific device group.

There has been a major enhancement to the User Groups feature in IXM WEB release 1.3.0.0 and later where the Default Group has been removed. Existing installations of IXM WEB that upgrade to 1.3.0.0 will continue to see the Default Group. New or fresh installations of IXM WEB 1.3.0.0 will not have the Default Group present.

Existing Installation of IXM WEB:

1.From Home screen go to USERS tile >> User Groups app to view default settings.

2. Create User Group:

  1. Click Create to create a new user group in IXM WEB which will redirect to “Add User Group” window. Provide name and details about the group and click Create.
  2. The user group will be created in IXM WEB and application log will be displayed

3. View List of Users in User Group:

  1. Click on the expand arrow to see the list of users which exist in a particular group

4. Add User(s) in User Group(s):

  1. Click Add to Group(s) to add an existing user in IXM WEB.
  2. IXM WEB will display new window to user with all the existing user(s) in IXM WEB as shown below.
  3. Click on the check box of “Select All” or select multiple users manually to transfer existing IXM WEB users to groups. Click Next once user(s) selection has been done.
  4. Select list of user groups available in IXM WEB.
  5. Select all the User Groups in which selected user(s) needs to be transferred. Click Add to Group(s). 
  6. A Confirmation message will be displayed. Click OK.
  7. Progress bar will be displayed showing success or fail application log.

5. Remove User(s) from User Group:

  1. Remove All Users:
    1. Click “All” to remove all users.
    2. A confirmation message will be displayed. Click Remove.
    3. Progress bar will be displayed showing success or fail application log.
  2. Remove All Users:
    1. Click “Selected” to remove selected users.
    2. A confirmation message will be displayed. Click Remove.
    3. Progress bar will be displayed showing success or fail application log.

6. Sync Groups:

  1. Select all the user groups available in IXM WEB and click Sync Groups to sync name of the group between IXM WEB and selected device. The group name will be synced based on the Group ID assigned to the particular group and the device group name will be overwritten by IXM WEB group name
  2. A confirmation message will be displayed. Click Sync.

7. User Group(s) on Device:

  1. Go to the device dropdown menu adjacent to the device, select the dropdown menu and select “User Groups”, which will redirect to user group(s) of selected IXM device.
  2. On device group page, user group(s) details shown in black color are user groups synchronized with IXM database and user group(s) details shown in red color are not synchronized with IXM WEB in terms of either group name or users in group or both.
  3. Sync Groups:
    1. Click Sync Groups to sync name of the group and users in the user group between Device and IXM WEB. The group name will sync based on the Group ID assigned to the particular group and IXM WEB group name will overwrite device group name.
    2. A confirmation message will be displayed. Click Sync.
    3. Progress bar will be displayed showing success or fail application log.
  4. Delete:
    1. Select user group(s) and click Delete to delete user group(s) from the device.
    2. IXM WEB will ask for the password.
    3. Enter the same IXM WEB log in password. Click Delete and progress bar will be shown. Upon completion confirmation message will be displayed.

Fresh Installation of IXM WEB 1.3.0.0:

1. Click Home >> USERS tile >> User Groups app to view default settings. No “Default Group” will be seen in the device or user group for new installation of IXM WEB version 1.3.0.0.

2. Create User Group:

  1. Click Create to create a new user group in IXM WEB which will redirect to “Add User Group” page. Provide name and details about the group and click Create.
  2. The user group will be created in IXM WEB and application log will be displayed

3. View List of Users in User Group:

  1. Click on the expand arrow to see the list of users which exist in a particular group.

4. Add User(s) in User Group(s):

  1. Click Add to Group(s) to add an existing user in IXM WEB.
  2. IXM WEB will display new window to user with all the existing user(s) in IXM WEB as shown below.
  3. Click “Select All” or select multiple users manually to transfer existing IXM WEB users to groups. Click Next once user(s) selection has been done.
  4. Select list of user groups available in IXM WEB.
  5. Select all the User Groups in which selected user(s) needs to transferred. Click Add to Group(s).
  6. A Confirmation message will be displayed. Click OK.
  7. Progress bar will be displayed showing success or fail application log.

5. Remove User(s) from User Group:

  1. Remove All Users:
    1. Click “All” button to remove all users.
    2. A confirmation message will be displayed. Click Remove.
    3. Progress bar will be displayed showing success or fail application log.
  2. Remove Selected Users:
    1. Click Selected button to remove selected users.
    2. A confirmation message will be displayed. Click Remove.
    3. Progress bar will be displayed showing success or fail application log.

6. Sync Groups:

  1. Select all the user groups available in IXM WEB and click Sync Groups to sync name of the group between IXM WEB and selected device. The group name will be synced based on the Group ID assigned to the particular group and the device group name will be overwritten by IXM WEB group name.
  2. A confirmation message will be displayed. Click Sync.

7. User Group(s) on Device:

  1. Go to the device dropdown menu adjacent to the device, select the dropdown menu and select “User Groups”, which will redirect to user group(s) of selected IXM device.
  2. On device group page, user group(s) details shown in black color are user groups synchronized with IXM database and user group(s) details shown in red color are not synchronized with IXM WEB in terms of either group name or users in group or both.
  3. Sync Groups:
    1. Click Sync Groups i.to sync name of the group and users in the user group between Device and IXM WEB. The group name will be synchronized based on the Group ID assigned to the particular group and IXM WEB group name will overwrite device group name.
    2. A confirmation message will be displayed. Click Sync.
    3. Progress bar will be displayed showing success or fail application log.
  4. Delete:
    1. Select user group(s) and click Delete to delete user group(s) from device.
    2. IXM WEB will ask for the password.
    3. Enter the same IXM WEB log in password. Click Delete and progress bar will be shown. Upon completion confirmation message will be displayed.
Biometric Access Devices